My Hair, Do Care

So I couldn’t do it.

I will be going on holiday soon and as I am at a loss as to what to do with my hair I have failed my “No braids” challenge and succumbed to the plaits.

IMG_1440

Blonde for Summer!!

I do however, intend to keep them in for a short time as possible so that it doesn’t cause too much tension and my sides don’t start to pull out again. If I see a white tip, it is coming out!

Braiding my hair this time around, I decided to speak up. I usually feel bad in telling a hairdresser what to do because they should know best and in the past due to my lack of courage my hair has suffered and I have gone home frustrated and annoyed. I have since learnt and accepted that there is no problem in doing this – at the end of the day it’s YOUR hair. You are the one who is going to have to deal with a bald patch if you don’t tell them what to do, where to be careful and where to help you out.

I firstly told the hairdresser to not do the front too tightly because I didn’t want it to pull too much and I also had to tell her exactly how I wanted my hair combed – from tip to root (it loosens the curls at the tips first before a comb through so reduces damage) – because what she was doing to de-tangle my curls was literally tearing my curls apart (I could hear it! I’m sure that I will have a few split ends and breakages by the time I take my braids out *sigh*). I’m on a mission to get healthy, long natural hair and no hairdresser is going to ruin that anymore. I won’t allow it. Fortunately, she was very nice and took my requests on board (someone who doesn’t is not worth going back to).

One book I’ve read and love is: The Science of Black Hair by Audrey Davis-Sivasothy

sciene

It’s like a cool text-book all about Afro hair without being boring. It covers understanding it, what it needs, how you should handle it etc. Curly hair is much more brittle than straight hair and Afro hair even more so. It’s useful to know how it works and what it needs and this book tells you all that. It even helps you to build a hair care regimen to use to grow your hair nice and strong!

I recommend you visit the website as well as quite a lot of the information is on there but the book is useful to have on wash days…can’t take a laptop into the shower! (or a book really but you can put it near by!)

Leave a Reply

